I threw a book away.

I always respect the first amendment and the freedom to express ideas. I always work hard to explain that Tipper Gore  has the right to protest a record label and it is not censorship. It is an exceptional example of free speech. I was really disappointed when Cop Killer  was taken off the Body Count  album. I completely support Walmart’s right to have an alternative nonexplicit album. The understanding of free speech in this country is convoluted. You have a right to say what you want, when you want, and not have the government interfere when you suffer the natural consequences. There are always consequences for speech. Shouting Fire or boring someone to death with your rambling are both big ones. John Stuart Mill understood these things and I recommend On Liberty  to anyone who can read and think at the same time. On that note, I tried to read a book on Marx by Marxists and suffered through half of the book. I simply do not live in the same reality as these people and they are harder to understand than David Lynch. I tried to read Exploitation. A collection of essays dedicated to the philosophy and production theory of Karl Marx. I read Das Kapital and it was easier than this was. I understand that the people who wrote this are very intelligent. There is no doubt in my mind about that. They are also very wrong. In the grand scheme of things, if I no longer want a book, I deliver it to the library and they sell it to raise funds to buy new books. It’s a system I like. It makes me feel good about getting rid of crap I don’t want in my house. But, I surely do not want a book written by the intelligentsia falling into the hands of a fool who understands just enough to be convinced by these people. I will by no means ask that this book be pulled off of shelves where people can get it. I just won’t be the one to put it there.

About zonkedout1

Am currently residing in Buffalo, WY. Interests include politics, religion, history and some philosophy. Just like everybody else. Am well read but can't remember any of the books. Am 35 yrs. old, hope to catch up to that in emotional age very, very soon. Have had health issues my whole life. Wish me luck with that one.

Posted on June 4, 2011, in Books, Politics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

